Permission levels#

Semaphore organizations can have an unlimited number of users. Users in the organization have different permissions based on their role.

Owner#

The creator of an organization is its owner. There cannot be multiple owners, but it is possible to [transfer ownership][project-transfer] of an organization.

The Owner can:

  • See all projects
  • Add projects to the organization if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository.
  • Transfer project ownership
  • Delete projects if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository.
  • Manage people
  • Manage billing
  • Transfer ownership of the organization
  • Delete the organization

Admins#

Users with the Admin permission level can:

  • See all projects
  • Add projects to the organization if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository
  • Transfer project ownership
  • Delete projects if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository;
  • Manage people
  • Manage billing

Members#

Users with Member permission level can:

  • See all projects they can also see on GitHub or Bitbucket
  • Add projects to the organization if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository
  • Transfer project ownership
  • Delete projects if they have Admin access to the corresponding repository

Changing permission level#

Every user in the organization can be promoted from the Member permission level to the Admin permission level. This can be done by following these steps:

  1. Go to the People page of your organization
  2. Click on the Promote button next to the username of the user you’d like to promote

The same steps should be followed if you want to change a user's permission level from Admin to Member. In this case, click on the Demote button next to the username.

Only an Admin or the Owner of the organization can perform these steps.

Note: An organization can only have one Owner. If you’d like to transfer ownership, please visit this page.

See also#